Richard Powers on Happiness

Sometimes I can’t believe I get paid to read, write, and think.  I’ve been reviewing Richard Powers’ new novel, Generosity: An Enhancement, which just brims with innovative life. You can pause on almost every page and  ponder some of what he’s saying through his characters, unwrapping these little bundles of insight.

More on the book itself later, but here’s a tantalizing quote:

Stone strikes me as the kind of guy who might not know what his pleasures are. He’s not alone. No one does. The happiness books are adamant on this. We’re  shaped to think the things we want will make us happy. But shaped to take only the briefest thrill in getting. Wanting is what having wants to recover.

Isn’t that intriguing–especially the last sentence? That’s my new bumper sticker:

Wanting is what having wants to recover.

I want that. I really do.

Leave a comment