Dealing with the Info Avalanche, Part 245

I don’t tweet, I don’t Twitter, I couldn’t even tell you how to read or where to find a Twitter message. I don’t actually see the point of limiting communication to a haiku. I find the whole effusion of communications technology bewildering. All you have to do is overhear a certain number of cell phone conversations to see that the vast majority of what people say and write to each other is totally pointless. I have an email address and I’m thinking of shutting that down. It’s amazing how overly accessible people are. There’s a lot of communication in my life that’s not enriching, it’s impoverishing.

–Michael Lewis, author of The Blind Side, Moneyball, and Panic: The Story of Modern Fiscal Insanity

From an Atlantic Monthly series called What I Read:  Scroll all the way down for other entries in the series.

Leave a Reply

