OMG! Twitter TMI? Or NEI?*

*Not Enough Information

Those of us still slightly skeptical of the Twitterverse Revolution can take comfort from the words of a textmaniac teen quoted in today’s NY Times. This gal sends 500 texts a day, but she’s just not that into Twitter:

“I just think it’s weird and I don’t feel like everyone needs to know what I’m doing every second of my life,” she said.

The full report is here , and makes me feel somewhat vindicated.  A few months ago, as Twitter was getting too buzzworthy to ignore, I  picked three interesting people who were Tweeting–the NPR host Scott Simon, the author David Allen, and the ex-baseball star Curt Schilling. Just in the interests of research, I signed up with Twitter and proceeded to “follow” these three for a few days.   I found their Tweets to be mostly dull and trivial–“in hotel room waiting for dinner,” “getting in cab at JFK,” etc.

Yes, brevity is the soul of wit, but it’s a rare person who can say anything worth reading in just 140 characters.

Leave a Reply

