Weirdest Zogby Poll Ever

I’ve confessed to being a regular pollee, if that’s the word, for the Zogby International polling organization, which sends me surveys a couple times a month. Thus do I help to  warp shape American opinion, sounding off on a variety of pressing issues I haven’t really thought much about that certainly warrant consideration.

The Zogs always ask a few of the same questions–Are you a member of the NRA? Are you a NASCAR fan? Are you a member of a union?–which I suppose they use to smoke out reliable Dems or Repubs or people who just like loud noises. Another constant is the “identity” question: “Do you consider yourself mostly a  citizen of your town, America, or the planet?” I did a KERA/NPR radio commentary exploring that question last year.

The current Zogby poll contains all those regulars plus dozens of new ones, including three of the oddest I’ve ever seen:

1. Would you agree to have a computer chip implanted in your brain if it would make you immune to disease?

2. Would you agree to have a computer chip implanted in your brain if it would provide you a storehouse of knowledge?

3. Would you agree to have a computer chip implanted in your brain if it would provide you with entertainment?

I guess my quick answers would be:

1. Duh. No, I was rather looking forward to a nice bout of tuberculosis in a year or so.

2. Knowledge of what? The Paraguayan economy? Dick Cheney’s whereabouts? How to hit a 95-mph fast ball?

3. Don’t we already have one? How else did shows like “The Biggest Loser” and “Family Guy” get on TV?

Seriously, I’d love to know why they included these. Is some company thinking about selling these chips? Maybe they’re checking out consumer sentiment. Where does the line form?

Leave a Reply

