“We Will Always Remember”

 

 

Here is the text of the President’s speech at the D-Day commemoration  today. Each year, I find myself  thinking  that this ceremony is one of the best things our presidents do, and I hope they keep attending even after the last D-Day veterans are gone. 

As Bill Clinton said at the 50th Anniversary of D-Day in 1994, “Let us never forget: When these men were young, they saved the world.”  As Ronald Reagan said on the 40th Anniversary, “We will always remember.”

Will we? I hope so, but I wonder. My daughter is a freshman at a top suburban high school–takes AP classes, loves to read, etc. But today she asked me what D-Day was all about, and I hope I explained it well. People cannot honor the memory of something they do not know about.

Leave a Reply

