The Joys of Walking

Serendipity lives: I took a  long walk this brisk, windy morning, and when I got back to my desk I opened a book I’ve been reviewing, Willard Spiegelman’s Seven Pleasures: Essays on Ordinary Happiness. In a moment  I came to this happy quote from the Danish philosopher Soren Kierkegaard, in a letter to his niece:

“When I have a problem I walk, and walking makes it better.  Do not lose your desire to walk; every day I walk myself into a state of well-being and walk away from every illness; I have walked myself into my best thoughts, and I know of no thought so burdensome that one cannot walk away from it.”

Some days, I know exactly what he means.

Leave a Reply

