New Gadget Eases Agony of Cowboys Blowout

No, I haven’t turned in my Dallas citizenship and fled the country after yesterday’s disgraceful Cowboys loss,  the team’s worst defeat in the Jerry Jones era which began in 1988. Two words: Puh. Thetic. Back up the garbage truck to Valley Ranch and clean house. This team is going backwards since last year’s 13-3 season, which ended in the whimper of a loss to the Giants in the first round of the playoffs.

With this team’s play over the past several years, I can’t see how the “America’s Team” hype can be sustained much longer, although I do recall a wise and wealthy bookie telling me a decade ago that there is some deep and irrational desire on the part of America to see the Cowboys win. “People just love that team,” he said. “They feel better when Dallas wins.”

Well, okay. There are the large mysteries of life, the ones so arcane we hardly expect to understand them: Free will vs. destiny, animal consciousness, life on other worlds, etc. And then there’s the Deepest Mystery of All: Why can’t the Cowboys win in December? Sportsgabber Norm Hitzges rattled off this stunning figure while sifting the ashes yesterday: Since 1998, the Cowboys are 14-41 after Thanksgiving Day!

Think about that. The players have turned over several times since 1998. I think there’s one guy left from that year. They’ve had 3 or 4 coaches who brought differing philosophies and regimens. And yet, the December Decline haunts them year after year. What in the world could account for  it?

And now to happier things.  I’ve been an AWOL blogger the past few days due to the usual holiday slowdown and my obsession with the iPod Nano Ann  and I got each other for Christmas.  Now I see what all the shouting was about.

 This little sliver of metal is amazing, and I can’t believe what a healthy sound it delivers, thanks also to the great Logitech Elite speakers I bought to power it. Strong subwoofers and such a deal for less than $90 at macmall.com.

Anyway, I’m having a great time creating dozens of playlists from my unruly batch of iTunes songs and some favorite CDs. Now if I can just figure out how to blend in that audio crossfade, I’ll be in such bliss I’ll forget about the December Disaster. After all, it’s only a game. Only a game. Only a game. . .

Leave a Reply

