Obama Speech on Race and Wright: The Rebirth of Hope

Halfway through reading Barack Obama’s extraordinary speech given this morning, I have to record this impression: It’s fabulous. Wise, supremely inspiring, healing, honest, brave. . .  I’ve been watching and caring about politics since the late Sixties, and I don’ t recall anything that’s impressed me more. I had come to doubt him in the past few days due to his association with this demagogic preacher, but he’s gone far beyond assuaging my fears.

As I say, I’m only halfway through. I find myself slowing down not just to savor it, but because I fear that the next paragraph can’t possibly be as good as the last.

Links will follow in next post.

Leave a Reply

